Never Forget

Never Forget.

Of the thousands of stories, here’s mine. It’s not much, but thought I would share it.
Thirteen years ago, I was eleven years old. My mom dropped me off on a sunny Tuesday like everyday in California. I walked into my 6th grade classroom and got ready for the day by placing my backpack next to my desk and pulling out a notebook. I remember the whispering, I remember the innocent eyes dancing around waiting for the morning bell to ring. It was like any other day. Minutes before our class was to begin, one classmate with metal-rimmed glasses and ginger hair yelled across the room, “a plane was hijacked!” Everyone didn’t believe him. I wondered what he meant and I didn’t believe it either. But, the boy kept talking. He continued, “someone stole a plane.” I brushed it off. My teacher, Mr. Commons, did too and unlike teachers I’ve read about, didn’t turn on the television. It was probably for the better because I’m sure it would have upset at least one kid in the room.
It was on my mind all day, but I didn’t think anything of it. I went through the day not knowing anything about what happened that day. I went to band, math, and science class all happy without much thought.
The moment I stepped inside my home after school I saw my brother strapped to the floor with his eyes gazed at the television. “I’m recording it” he blurted. I saw the images. The buildings, the plane, the lives that weren’t saved. My emotion was stuck and I kept asking my brother what happened, who did it, was it intentional, and hundreds more an eleven year old would ask.
At that age, I didn’t know anything about politics and the threats we were prone to from countries. As years went by, I was educated more about our international enemies, learned that our security was beefed up immediately after the attacks, and experienced a change in my life forever.
Lives were lost and some still have not been recovered. As horrifying it is to see images and videos, I hope the future generations will never forget the courage and bravery our service men and women as well as those lives affected endured. As a country we have gone through too many events that change our views on people. No event should ever be forgotten. Today is a remembrance of 9/11 and let us never forget that.
Leave a Reply

